Posted by: loungekitten | May 6, 2009

Pomeranian Update

I haven’t posted about my dog in a while.  It’s been three months since we got her, and there are signs of her settling in here.  She still runs from us whenever we approach her, or when we come into the room.  I think it’s really hard for her to know how to interact with us – but she’s definitely more comfortable with me or my mother than she is with other people.  We no longer walk her around the backyard on her leash.  Here’s a couple of photos from one of the first times when I had to collect her from the backyard.

Ha!  You will never get me!

Ha! You will never get me!

Oh yeah, wanna bet?

Oh yeah, wanna bet?

Also, she would not sit or lay in the dog bed we bought for her.  We tried everything – putting her in there, throwing treats in the bed, and putting toys in the bed.  So, she would just lay on the carpet all the time.

Getting her beauty rest

Getting her beauty rest

Can't you see I'm trying to sleep!

Can't you see I'm trying to sleep!

Finally, one day we put her in the bed and she just stayed there.  Now she gets in the bed all the time, no bribes needed!

Resting in her nice, warm bed. . .

Resting in her nice, warm bed. . .

Seriously, I need the sleep!

Seriously, I need the sleep!

(I can’t get rid of the alien eyes!)  The last two pictures were from last night, when she decided to stay out in the rain for over an hour.  (Don’t worry, our porch is covered so she could stay mostly dry.  But seriously, she really likes being outside.)  That is until I came to get her.  I don’t know why she listens to me.  We have a routine where I go outside and say, “I’m coming to get you” and she gets happy and runs around the yard and then straight into the house.  This morning, I didn’t even have to come outside – she ran in when I came to the door!

And she is answering to the name Shirley. . .I refuse to call her Shirley Temple, it’s just not going to happen!


Leave a comment

Categories