Posted by: loungekitten | October 28, 2009

To School Or Not To School?

This is the question of the day.  I woke up with a fever (to what extent I have yet to determine) and glands so swollen it hurts to turn my head.  My throat was sore, but now it’s not.  I think that the epithelium of my pharynx  (ha! look at me throwing around those anatomy and histology terms!) were dried out because I probably slept with my mouth wide open because my nose was stuffed up.  I don’t think I have influenza of any sort.  So I may still go to school.  I have a lab today, and labs can’t be made up.  It might not matter if I miss this one, but I would feel bad for my lab partner because he will have to do the work on his own while the other groups have four people in each group.  I might just go for the lab. . .though while I’m there I suppose I should just stay for my lecture at 4 PM.  And I’ll probably fall asleep in the lecture, like I did on Monday.  I’ve been fighting whatever infection this is for a few weeks now, and I think I pushed myself through the last week-and-a-half and my immune system just finally became overwhelmed.

On the other hand, the lab I have to go to this afternoon is not as cool as my Recombinant DNA lab or my Biochemistry lab.  Here’s the end product from Biochemistry lab yesterday:

Electrophoresis Gel of PCR Reaction

That is an electrophoresis gel showing the result of our PCR experiment.  This picture was taken by my camera through a door in the UV chamber.  There is a camera at the top of the UV chamber that takes a picture of the gel and sends it to a computer to be captured.  Normally, the picture we get from that process gives us a black-and-white picture, like this one:

Electrophoresis gel capture

That picture is from one of my classes last spring.  It was actually the result of my midterm exam.

Well, needless to say, I don’t think I am going to knit night again this week.  I haven’t been in over a month and I miss everyone!  Keep your fingers crossed for next week.


Leave a comment

Categories